the office

I’ve never held a full-time job.

I told my (new) supervisor that I had been a full-time student most of my life, and he laughed. I’d like to think a bit of cheek only helped during my interview, but maybe they were just severely understaffed.

Halfway through today, after they assigned me a desk and a computer and a cubicle, I realized that I would be back every single weekday, to the exact same spot, for an x number of weeksmonths. It was weird not being a flighty little intern. I suppose ‘transitory office admin’ is only so much better, but still. In the last forty-five minutes of work, I looked for an appropriate wallpaper to leave on my computer screen (dandelion, lomography). It had never been worth the effort before; nor may it have been entirely appropriate.

So far it’s boring, but there have been a few interesting moments.

– A caucasian supervisor who was teaching me a computer system said “aiyah!” in the most convincing way.

– The web guy spent 30 minutes lecturing me on facebook, in which I am already extremely, extremely well versed. I was simultaneously bored to tears and amused.

– The girl who sits at the cubicle next to mine is a designer from Shanghai. Her name is Unicorn. I hope we become friends.

But the absolute best part of my day was coming home to Mowgli. lols. what can I say. He’s the love of my life. It’s only unfortunate that he likes to sniff crotches.

I digress.

I am going to art school. If for no other reason than it’ll give me a legitimate excuse to buy loads and loads of pens. And create design boards. with textiles and pictures and ribbons. touchtouch.

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “the office

  1. Carolyn K. says:

    i’m not going to lie; I glanced over “pens” and thought you wrote something else. wee!

  2. jentsang says:

    yay! sounds like your first day was somewhat eventful (was it like the office? haha).
    and omg, unicorn. can you please be friends with her.. she sounds awesome.

  3. diana says:

    yayy for work! and money for play! and shopping of course :)

  4. I’ve always wanted to work in a cubicle. Only for like a week though.

Leave a Reply

