bold as brass

a note: I thought I knew what a bluejay looked like. Now, after fifteen minutes of research, I learned that what I thought all my life was a bluejay is actually a Steller’s Jay (Cyanocitta stelleri), a jay native to western North America, closely related to the blue jay found in the rest of the continent, but with a black head and upper body.

Image

Everything above – except for my reaction to the epiphany – directly lifted from wiki and compfight.

A giant stellar bluejay alighted on wooden post not five feet from me while I was taking in some towels we had hung out to dry.

Bold as brass little bird. Or bold as blue, a nice cobalt-y blue, my favorite kind.

Mowgli chased him off, but the bold as brass little jay kept flying back to trees in our backyard just to aggravate him.

Screw winter, spring is coming

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

