what grinds my gears

(for some reason, that is my strongest memory of Family Guy)

A short rant of (esoteric, elitist) things that bother me:

– Taylor Swift lyrics in which she calls herself “a scarlet letter”: Pretttttyyyy sure she doesn’t want to be known as a woman wearing a scarlet letter. I think she’s confused. Please see Nathaniel Hawthorne, High School Required Reading.

– “Bougie” : Aside from the atrocious spelling, this (atrocious, atrocious) derivation of bourgeoisie is so wrong in definition. Did the definition change when the US adopted this word? I’m so confused. Urbandictionary tells me yes, but I can’t in good journalistic and academic integrity take Urbandictionary’s word for anything.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

