art imitates life

and for the past two and a half years, my life as been unprecedentedly woe-free, so I have very little angst to draw on. I would like my life to remain free of drama, but not of writing, so it’s back to practice I go, click-clacking away mulishly at my computer, at least once a day, even when I’ve got nothing to say.

Ellen Shakespeare taught us a really awesome exercise, entitled: 10 things I know to be true, and these are what i know to be true today (for Truths, as we all know, change with experience and hardness and gentleness, and therefore must be documented daily).

1. Mowgli now sleeps exclusively on my bed, and I arrange a little nest of his blanket around him before I retire for the night

2. this nest needs to be constantly rearranged, since he can be a fidgety sleeper

3. I enjoy writing long, frivolous emails full of whimsy to my friends

4. No matter how bad things get, or how little money I have, I have a truly wonderful support system.

5. I feel lost a lot.

6. I am alternately/simultaneously convinced that I am doing the right thing.

7. Mark Edwards asked me why I was afraid to admit that I wanted to be a writer, and I sat in his office and cried, because I have never wanted anything this badly, and because I have never been so afraid of failing.

8. I want people to think I am a good driver.

9. Online shopping is not healthy

10. I crave processed foods less often than I used to, but I still eat them because they’re easily accessible.

I like this exercise because sometimes it gets me to admit things I would only say out loud to Brian, and I also like this exercise because some of my truths still surprise me.

[edit] saw this quote on the wordpress homepage as I hit the publish button:

“The role of a writer is not to say what we all can say, but what we are unable to say.” ANAÏS NIN

Which is awesome in light of my feeling lost, and what I learned from Claudia this semester about Henry Miller and Armistead Maupin and universal truths. I have a lot of books on my to-read list, but I keep writing them down in obscure notebooks and not remembering where I put them.

Tagged ,

One thought on “art imitates life

  1. If you enjoy writing, go for it, work hard and pursue doing what you love. The more you write, the better you become. Don’t be discouraged by your present, rather use this time to practice and create. I learned that the small decisions, the small steps are in fact the big ones. I never understood the value of cherishing the small, mundane things in life until I saw it accumulate and looking back the past few years, if I snubbed them, I wouldn’t be where I am today. It’s ok to feel lost, you can be certain that you have the power to do something now.

    Sam
    http://www.samishome.com

    Ps. thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

